网站通知

06.Jul.2021

DISCOVER JAPAN

在日本的公共场所拍照

在日本生活期间,我去过很多地方,也参加过很多活动。
我了解到,在日本很多地方,拍照是被限制甚至禁止的。

我去了以史克威尔·艾尼克斯开发的人气游戏为主题的咖啡店。我和朋友去的时候,被告知一天中的某些时段是可以拍照的,到时候工作人员会联系我。到了允许拍照的时候,店家只允许我们对着点的饮料和食物拍照,不允许我们对周围的环境拍照。我们收到了打击,但我们认为咖啡馆的限定项目并不多,店家可能想保留来到咖啡店才能看到限定产品的体验,因此不允许我们拍照。

这是我的第二次经历。 是在体育馆里拍摄,但这个更容易理解。
大多数健身房的规模都比较小,参加的人都不希望在健身的时候被打扰,或者隐私被侵犯,所以我理解在健身房禁止摄影。
如果说有什么,我接受这个想法,我认为这对我来说是一件更好的事情,我可以专注于我的健身活动,而不是在健身房里给自己和别人拍照。

除了上述的例子外,还有很多地方被告知禁止拍照,不管是在展览、电玩活动、博物馆,还是在走在大街上拍摄,都是如此。
我甚至听说过有人因为偷拍别人走路而被警察拦下的故事,即使他们没有犯下严重罪行。
但是,他们被警察警告,在日本不要在街上随便拍照,因为有些人认为这是侵犯个人隐私的。
我在东京游戏展上也有类似的经历。当我想录制一些游戏画面、揭秘预告片等时,保安出现了,表示这是侵犯版权的行为,要求我删除画面,然后关掉相机。在我看来,这有点荒唐。媒体人和其他参会人员拍摄预告片,这对开发商来说是一个很好的宣传方式,可以获得更多的宣传,推广自己的产品。

换句话说,日本在大多数经营方式上仍然非常传统。现在极少数会发生在实际产品在发布日期之前被泄露数据和预告片的情况。
还有一点很重要的是,如果你在日本的sns上上传视频或照片用于个人或商业用途,那么建议对照片中不认识的人进行模糊处理,以避免将来可能侵犯个人隐私的问题(除非你已经获得他们的许可)。
这并不意味着日本普遍禁止摄影,而是恰恰相反。
奥运会即将到来,日本正努力向世界宣传自己的形象,但同时也在努力使得不同文化在日本国内更受欢迎。随着互联网的兴起,使用互联网的人越来越多,很容易就能找到时间开一个博客。日本的一些博主正在制作面向国际观众的视频。其他博主则分享自己在日本的旅行和新生活的视频,为世界其他国家和地区的人们提供生活和访问日本的小贴士。不过,在录制的时候还是要提高警惕,提前询问是否允许拍照或录像,以免出现潜在的问题。同时避免做可能被认为是冒犯的事情。
寺庙、神社、人气旺盛的街道(如新宿的涩谷十字路口、原宿、歌舞伎町等)、餐厅等热门旅游景点的地方,大部分都可以拍照和录像。

本篇博客到此结束。 希望以上内容大家觉得有用。

top

Newsletter

06.Jul.2021

DISCOVER JAPAN

Public Photography in Japan

While living in Japan and visiting places, attending events, etc.
I learned that many places in Japan limit the number of photos allowed to be taken or completely ban them.

My first encounter of such case was when I went to Square Enix cafe that was selling products and had items on menu that are based on their popular game titles developed by Square Enix. While I was there with friends, we were told that we will be allowed to take photos during certain periods and that we will notified by the staff. When the time came, we were only allowed to take photos of the drinks and dishes that we ordered and not of the surroundings in the cafe. We were shocked, but we assumed that the cafe had few exclusive items and wanted to preserve the experience for those who visit only and as such we weren’t allowed to take photos.

The second encounter for me I thought was more understandable, which was taking photos at the gym.
Most gyms are rather small and people that attend don’t want to be disturbed or have their privacy invaded while working out, so I wasn’t bothered by this.
If anything I rather embraced the idea and thought it’s is a good for people to focus on doing what they came to do instead of taking photos of themselves or others at the gym.

Apart from the mentioned examples, there were many places where I was told that photography is prohibited , be it at exhibitions, video games events, museum, and on few occasions just filming while walking down the streets.
I even heard of cases where people were stopped by the police for filming people on the streets while walking around, they didn’t get arrested nor was it a serious crime.
However, they did get a warning and they were advised to avoid filming on the road or taking photos of people just because some people in Japan believe it is an invasion of their privacy.
I experienced something similar at Tokyo Game Show. While trying to record some of the game-play footage, reveal trailers, etc, the security showed up stating that it’s a violation of copy rights and I was asked to delete the footage before switching my camera off. Which for me seemed a bit irrational with the trailers being filmed by many people from the press and other attendees at the event and it is a good way to gain more publicity for developers to promote their products.

Having said that, Japan still remains very traditional in most of their business approach. Not to mention the recent leaks of data, trailers or in some rare cases the actual product prior to the scheduled date.
Another important point I should mention is, if you are uploading videos/photos taken on sns in Japan for personal or professional usage, then it is suggested to censor or blur out the faces of people you don’t know from photos to avoid any potential issues in the future(Unless you already acquired their permission).
This isn’t to state that photography in Japan in general is forbidden, if anything it is the opposite.
With the Olympics approaching soon, Japan is trying to promote the country and spread their image to the rest of the world all while they are trying to be more welcoming of other cultures. There are many people who are taking advantage of the rise of the internet and how easy it can be to start vlogging should you find the time. Some bloggers are Japanese are making videos for overseas viewers.
Other bloggers are sharing videos about their trip or new life in Japan and giving tips about living/visiting Japan to people from their country or region in whichever part of the world. However, it is still best to be on alert when recording and ask beforehand if you’re allowed to take photos or videos just to be on the safe side and avoid potential issues, also avoid doing things that might be considered offensive.
Popular touristy spots such as temples/shrines, busy/popular streets (such as Shibuya crossing, Harajuku or Kabukicho in Shinjuku) ,restaurants, etc tend to be a safe locations and most will allow taking photos/videos, some people may even willingly try to be in the shot especially if it is a group photo.

With this I conclude this blog, I hope you find it useful.

top